Football!

KC Chiefs Logo
KC Chiefs Logo

As we approach the football season, I excitedly await the start of the season so that I can watch the KC Chiefs play.  I’m hoping that we make it back to the playoffs again, only make it farther this time.  For some reason that first play off game is one hurdle that the Chiefs haven’t been able to make it over.  OK, before any of you blame the quarterback or the coach you’re only partially correct.  It was a culmination of things that caused the Chiefs not to make it past their first playoff game.

Matt Cassel
Matt Cassel
Former KC Chiefs Head Coach Crennel
Former KC Chiefs Head Coach Crennel

 

 

 

 

 

During what I call the Crennel era, I blame Crennel for the performance, and Pioli for putting him there.  I don’t really blame Matt Cassel, I feel that he had talent, and if was coached correctly I think would’ve made it far.  I also feel that it’s Crennel that should take most of the blame.  Why?  Because he had Jamaal Charles, Eric Berry, Eric Johnson, Tamba Hali, and Justin Houston.  Cassel and the others all had talent, it was his inept coaching that caused the worst season in KC Chiefs history.

Andy Reid & Alex Smith
Andy Reid & Alex Smith

After Crennel, the Chiefs did some reorganizing of the team and staff…  Now they have Andy Reid and Alex Smith.  They turned the team around during the 2013 season to have the most miraculous comeback of any of the NFL teams that I’ve ever seen in my life.  The Chiefs face a very tough schedule in the upcoming 2014 season which includes facing the 49ers, the Patriots, and the Jets.  I’m confident that the Chiefs will give those teams a run for their money if nothing else.   I’m waiting for the 49ers game… Smith against his old team, that will be an awesome game to watch.

AFC West Teams
AFC West Teams

I’m not all that concerned about any of the other teams in the AFC West.  With the exception of the Broncos (Boo!).  The Chargers got into the playoffs by luck last season, I don’t consider them a threat nor a contender for the division title this coming season.  Then last but not least, there’s the Raiders…  With the inconstant performance, the bad coaching, and mediocre players, I just don’t feel that the Raiders stand a chance this season (Sorry Raiders fans).

As I’ve said in the past, I’m not here to start a flame war, or a war about what team is better.  This is my perspective on this subject.  Agree with me or not, I’m not changing it. 😛

All images on this page are copyright of their perspective holders.

Leave a Reply

