Movie Philosophy

Movies

Movies

We’ll talk about movie philosophy today.  As with anything everyone does have their own interpretation of whats said, seen, and read.  All a matter of perspective.  Here, I’ll talk about two of the great movie philosophy and state the facts.  I’m not here to pass judgement on anyone’s beliefs, I’m here to talk about them, and look at them from my point of view.

The Matrix

The Matrix

There are many that believe in the Matrix philosophy, but I personally don’t see how it relates to anything in real life.  Many people take the philosophy in different ways… I on the other hand take the ideas and quotes from the movie and try to relate it to real life.  Personally, I just can’t find a relation.  There is no spoon, let go of reality, believe.  Now, let’s be frank…  If you decide to let reality go and believe that you can fly, and jump off the roof of a building…  Well, it’s not the fall that hurts you, it’s the sudden stop at the ending that does.  I take the there is no spoon scene in the movie as another reflection of, let go of reality, if you believe that you can bend the spoon, you can.  Does that mean that if you believe that you can perform brain surgery you can? (LOL)

Now, the famous blue pill & red pill scene where Morpheus tells Neo, “This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” (The Matrix makes reference to Alice in Wonderland a several times)  I take this as a “wake up” and smell the coffee.  To stop accepting what you think reality is, and accept what reality actually is.  Uhhh… That’s talking about perspective in a complicated way, if you want to put it in that perspective.

Yoda from Star Wars

Yoda from Star Wars

Now, the famous Star Wars Yoda philosophy.  I’ll cover a couple of things that Yoda says during the scene where he trains Luke and Luke is attempting to raise the fighter out of the swamp.  “No. Try not. Do… or do not. There is no try” This makes sense even in real life.  You can try to do anything, but never accomplish anything, for trying is just another word for attempt.  Now, when you do something, that’s different.  When Luke makes reference to the size of the fighter (must be a Freudian thing, lol), Yoda tells him, ” Size matters not. Look at me. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmm? Hmm. And well you should not. For my ally is the Force, and a powerful ally it is. Life creates it, makes it grow. Its energy surrounds us and binds us. Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter. You must feel the Force around you; here, between you, me, the tree, the rock, everywhere, yes. Even between the land and the ship. ”  Now, this is just purely beliefs at work.  I feel that everything does have an energy to it as well, a life force energy so to speak.  But, as I’ve said before, it’s all perspective.

Well, I leave up to you again, my readers which you feel is more believable.  I only write this because it was something that I was thinking about earlier… You decide. Always feel free to leave comments about what you think. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Movie Philosophy

Leave a Reply

