Are You OK?

Are you okay

It annoys me when someone asks me if I’m OK after I’ve fallen and hurt myself, bumped my head on something, etc.  It makes me want to say, “I’ve scraped my knee, do I look OK to you?”  Now, why do people ask you if you’re OK after you’ve visibly hurt yourself?  I’ve thought about it on and off for years, and this ponder has gotten me no where.  Perhaps they’re wondering if you need medical attention?  If that’s the case, why don’t they just ask directly?  Then there are those whom see that you’re grieving about something.  A broken heart, a loss of a loved one, and even if they know that you aren’t OK, they ask anyway, “Are you OK?”  I don’t know about you, but that’s enough to make me want to scream.

Why can’t people just come out and say what they mean?  Honestly, I don’t know…  Perhaps society in general has degraded to the point where we can’t express ourselves without fear of making fools of ourselves?  Perhaps.  I guess it’s something that I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

