It’s in our nature…

it's in your nature

I remember in one of the Terminator movies the Terminator (the T100, pictured above) had told young John Connor that it was in our nature to destroy ourselves.  I’ve never forgotten that quote because at the time even though I was young when I saw the movie in the theater, I thought to myself, “That is so true”.  For me to realize that at such an early age is quite depressing.

If one really thinks about it, it is true.  All the wars, the mass destruction and killing over the centuries because of ideals, beliefs, and sometimes just plain greed.  The Romans were guilty of the latter.  Wars over ideals and beliefs, well, look at recent history.  WWI and WWII were all because of beliefs.  The Revolutionary War as well.  The sad thing is that we don’t stop at destroying just ourselves.  We also destroy the things around us (us meaning humanity).

We almost killed off all the whales in the ocean, we destroy our environment by creating pollution on a mass scale.  We cut down the trees that make our oxygen.  So yes, I do believe that it is in our nature as a species to destroy ourselves and things around us.  It doesn’t matter if we intend to or not, if it’s out of ignorance or not, or even necessity.  It’s plain fact.  It saddens me at times to see these things happen around, me, but there’s nothing that I could do that would make a difference.  There are people already out there lobbying to “save the planet” without much success, I may add.

In the end, the planet will triumph, though.  Humanity won’t be here forever, how many times has mother nature (or god if that’s what you believe) have started over?  If I’m correct, we’re the second attempt.  The first attempt was the dinosaurs, but they were all wiped out after millions of years by a comet.  Yup, the greater powers decided to start over again, but the planet remained.  So, I believe that mother earth will triumph over us in one way or another, and that if its in our nature or not to destroy ourselves time will move on.  No one lives forever.  Or as Riddick said in The Assault on The Dark Athena game: “No one wants to die, but everyone gets to”

This is my perspective on this subject, and I leave it to my readers to make up their own minds about this subject.  Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

