Hobby Lobby, Activists, Obama, & America

Bill_of_Rights_Pg1of1_AC

This is something that has been all over the news networks lately.  The Hobby Lobby case.  Everyone has a perspective on this case, so I think that I’ll voice my thoughts on it today.  First, lets start at the root of all of this discussion.  The Constitution of the United States.  The Bill of Rights states in the first amendment:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

As with anything written, it could be viewed in a number of ways.  I’m going to take this from a literal point of view.

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof

I feel that from the literal point of view that the Affordable Care Act is unconstitutional in this perspective.  Corporations are just an entity, but it is run by human beings.  Human beings with beliefs.  One of the core beliefs that America was founded on was the freedom of religion.  Some of the first immigrants to America came here from England to escape religious persecution.  Many people in today’s age seem to forget that.  Yes, I know times have changed, but we must not forget what this country stands for, why our forefathers founded this country, and why the constitution was written to begin with.

Don’t get me wrong, I do feel that women do have the right to use contraceptive, and have the right to chose to have children or not.  But, I do feel that it’s selfish of people to thing that just because they want it, healthcare should be made to cover it regardless of what principles or religious beliefs another person may have on the subject.  Healthcare costs for everyone went up so that just about everything a woman needs medically would be covered by healthcare insurance.  No, I don’t feel the same way as others feel that it’s the insurance carrier’s fault that premiums went up.  It would have not gone up to begin with if it wasn’t for the Obama Care law.  It’s all cause and effect.  I could see all this coming when Obama had brought up the Affordable Care Act.  I knew that costs of health care would go up for everyone, it’s simple economics.  I also saw people losing coverage at work (while this hasn’t happened in as of a large scale as I thought it would, it has in a smaller scale).

Obama has been ramming new programs and legislature down the throat of congress using the power of the executive office.  I feel that this makes our country more like a dictatorship than a democracy. I don’t know what Obama is going to do next, but it’s scary to think of all the things that could happen next because of recent events and the legalization of the Affordable Care Act.

I only have one thing to say about all of this:

It isn’t my fault, I didn’t vote for any of the people in office in Washington.

As always, I only state my perspective on this subject, I’m not here to start a flame war, or to saw who’s right or wrong.  These are my thoughts.  Anyhow, my rant is done.  Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

