Internet Addiction?

Photo by Flickr user Marc oh! http://www.flickr.com/photos/marcohk/

Internet Cafe
Photo by Flickr user Marc oh! http://www.flickr.com/photos/marcohk/

Internet addiction is something that my friends and I used to joke about.  We used to laugh about it, and go on with our lives (in both reality and in cyberspace).  Granted in the past as well as in the present, I spend a lot of time in “cyberspace”.  Mostly it’s to look up information or play games on my phone or computer.  I don’t know what I’d do without my smartphone and an internet connection.  It’s become so common place for me to just look something up when I have questions about it.  This addiction to common people is laughable here in the United States, but in other parts of the world, such as China, they take it seriously, and recognize it as a psychological ailment.  They’ve even started Internet Addiction Boot Camps.

Students receive a group punishment during a military-style close-order drill class at the Qide Education Center in Beijing February 19, 2014 (Reuters / Kim Kyung-Hoon) From: http://rt.com/news/169644-chinese-internet-addiciton-cod/

Students receive a group punishment during a military-style close-order drill class at the Qide Education Center in Beijing February 19, 2014 (Reuters / Kim Kyung-Hoon)
From: http://rt.com/news/169644-chinese-internet-addiciton-cod/

These boot camps are inhumane at best, but to be frank, I feel that it’s barbaric.  An article on the ABC News site even claims that a male teenager was killed from being beaten while at one of the many camps that are springing up all over China.  The article even states:

Tao Ran, director of the country’s first Internet addiction treatment clinic under a military hospital in Beijing, told The Associated Press that such deaths are bound to happen because few camps employ scientific methods, with most opting for crude military-style discipline.

I’ve also read that some of the camps even use electroshock therapy (something that we in the west have abandoned as far as I know).  Are these camps really for the child’s benefit, or torture until they want nothing more to do with computers and the internet?  Sheesh.  I feel that there are better ways to go about this, and while I usually don’t condone the United States interfering with the problems with other nations, when is President Obama going to do something about the torture going on there?  Or is he more interested in sending troops to war?  But, that’s for another post.

While I feel that the United States needs camps funded like these to teach discipline and respect to children (On many occasions I’ve dealt with a disrespectful adolescent/teen), they should be using psychology and scientific methods to teach the children that the internet isn’t something to be abused by playing games on all of the time that they’re awake, but to be used what it was originally intended for when it was created.  The free educational exchange of information.

I have nothing against playing multiplayer games online, I have and still play such games on my phone, computer, and consoles.  But, even I know to take a break and go out and get some exercise… Or “Get some air” as some people would put it.  If you don’t get some sunlight, it can lead to medical problems, for we go get nutrients from the sunlight like plants do.

In any case, this is my rant for the day.  As always, these are my thoughts on this subject, and is not meant to offend, to say who is right or wrong, but something that I’m merely presenting the facts on, as well as my thoughts and feelings.  Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

