Democrats, The NFL, & The Redskins

Image courtesy of Idea go / stockimages FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Idea go / stockimages FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Damned it all to hell… I never thought that politics and football would ever mesh.  It’s unfortunate that the Democrats decided to pick now to push legislation to hurt the Washington Redskins and the NFL.  I understand that Redskin could be a derogatory term, but in this case, no harm was intended.  I’m Asian, if a team wanted to call itself The Yellowskins, I wouldn’t care (In fact I would find it quite comical).  It’s a just a word, it’s the meaning behind of it that counts.  According to the Redskins owner Dan Snyder had said that the name of the team was meant to honor Native Americans.

 

Image courtesy of coward_lion / stockimages FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of coward_lion / stockimages FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Cantwell, D-Wash., the former chairwoman of the Senate Indian Affairs Committee, whom is in league with the Oneida Nation, is threatening the NFL with losing its non profit status if the name and mascot  isn’t changed.  Rep. Betty McCollum, D-Minn. is also arguing for the change as well.  We all know that this is election season, this is a blunt attempt at getting votes because the Democrats in minority in the House of Representatives, and they have only a slim hold on the Senate.  They’re desperate to put it bluntly.  Honestly, who would want that kind of party representing them in the nation’s capitol?

I do understand how it feels to be teased and ridiculed because of my heritage, but when this was said:

“The NFL needs to join the rest of America in the 21st Century,” said Cantwell, D-Wash., the former chairwoman of the Senate Indian Affairs Committee. “We can no longer tolerate this attitude toward Native Americans. This is not about team tradition. This is about right and wrong.”

source: Article on thescore.com, link is below

This had really upset me.  Yes, this is the 21st century, and all involved being educated, I would think that it should mean being open minded and tolerant.  If one seeks to hurt another because of a name, a word really, it shows that you’re no better.  Also to threaten shows that you’re not very educated as well (or smart, or both) for that matter.

Football is America’s most popular pastime.  In effect they want to spoil everyone’s fun.  To me, if you hurt the NFL, you hurt every American that loves football as well (including me, but that’s besides the point).  While I do understand the point of view of the Native Americans, the Washington Redskins has had their name and mascot for years.  According to a poll taken (honestly, I haven’t seen the poll nor the results personally), the Redskins organization states that 80% of Americans don’t want the name changed.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not condone ridicule or disrespect to anyone due to their racial heritage.  But this is getting annoying and out of hand.  Why turn something so small into something to big when all football is is a bunch of people getting together to play or watch the sport that they love.  All of this…. stuff is really putting a hamper on the spirit of football.  I love football and my team the Kansas City Chiefs.  I honestly don’t feel that the team or the NFL was being malicious when christening the team with that name.

To me football season is the best time of the year, and the most fun that can be had is during football season. I don’t want Democrats or anyone else for that matter to screw it up with politics.  This is why I’m Republican.  In any case, if you’re interested, I have the link to my source material below.  Thanks for reading. 🙂

http://www.thescore.com/nfl/news/580047

Leave a Reply

