Super Bowl 50

Super Bowl 50 is this weekend, so I’ve decided to make my predictions for the game.  Even though I’m a Kansas City Chiefs fan, I’ll be rooting for the Broncos.  I can’t stand the Panthers and Newton.  Cam Newton reminds me of Tom Brady (another quarterback that I love to hate).  With that said, on to my predictions.

As much as I want them to win, I just have to face facts.  Peyton Manning isn’t what he used to be.  He can’t throw the long passes like he used to, and Brock Osweiler isn’t a good replacement yet.  On top of that, if you look at the roster, you can see that the rest of the team is aging.  It looks like it’s going to be an uphill battle for them.

Luckily, their defense is strong so, they should be able to keep the Panthers’ score down and get the ball to their offense.  But, I do think that the defense will be very tired by the time that the second half comes round.  Work the defense too much and they’ll get tired, make costly mistakes and allow more scoring.  I’d say by the second half the Broncos defense will be marginal at best.  So, if the Broncos want a good shot at winning, they need to score as many points as they can during the first half of the game.

The Carolina Panthers while a good team this season have a few things working against them.  Since they haven’t lost a game in the regular season, and made it through the playoffs to the Super Bowl, they’re very overdue for a loss.  No one’s perfect, and everyone has to lose sometime.  It’s the law of averages.

Another thing that they have working against them would probably be over confidence, and under estimating their seasoned opponents.  If they do, it’s not like it hasn’t happened to anyone else.  Look at the New England Patriots.  In 2007, they went undefeated, and was boasting about it all across mass media.  Then they got to Super Bowl 42 and lost to the New York Giants 17 – 14.  While a close game, I feel that the margin would’ve been bigger if the Patriots didn’t underestimate their opponent.

Aging rosters…  Seems like a lot of the teams in the NFL is suffering from this.  The Panthers’ roster is aging as well.  As Toby Keith sang, “I ain’t as good as I once was…”  This will make things harder for the team as well.  Over all, I feel that the Panthers do have a better team, although.  But the score will be close.

My prediction for Super Bowl 50: Panthers win by 3.

Leave a Reply

