Jellyfishes

ID-100337754

Image courtesy of MrWildLife at freedigitalphotos.net

I was thinking about a segment that I saw on the news the other day about a jellyfish influx at the beaches here in Honolulu.  They reported that many have gotten stung, and one beach was closed due to the jellyfish in the water.  They even showed a clip of people walking past the jellyfish warning signs and going into the water regardless.  That made me shake my head.

Who in their right minds would risk a sting from a jellyfish just to swim?  That’s what pools are for.  Then when they get stung, they cry for help.  Sheesh.  Watch someone’s going to sue the state.  Why didn’t they close the beach… I didn’t vote for any of them, not my fault.

If you ask me, anyone whom disregards a warning sign about a danger of jellyfish stings deserves to be stung.  No, I don’t think that the signs should be multilingual either.  If they come to my country they should know how to read and speak my language in a rudimentary basis.  That’s one of the many reasons that I don’t travel out of country.  If I can’t speak and read the language, I’m not going to go to someone else’s home and expect them to accommodate me.  That’s just wrong.

Leave a Reply

